The Girl Who Broke the Rules

Marnie Riches

Publication Date: 30 September 2021

To catch a killer, she must turn to someone even worse…

The bodies were found abandoned in the street. Their arms were outstretched, as if pleading for help. The rest of them barely looked human…

Detective Paul van den Bergen must capture the killer they call the Butcher before the city erupts into panic. He turns to Georgina McKenzie, criminologist, and a woman who knows darkness inside and out.

The rising death toll takes George and Van den Bergen on a desperate chase from the seedy criminal underworld to the mansions of the privileged, who do what they want, whatever the cost. Soon, George realises that the key to solving the case lies with the brilliant, untrustworthy serial murderer, Dr. Silas Holm.

But when George sits down in the high-security prison to talk with Holm face to face, will she find a killer—or fall victim to one?

A crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages breathlessly late into the night! The Girl Who Broke the Rules is perfect for fans of Kendra Elliott, Robert Dugoni and Steig Larsson.

“A MUST-READ crime series, with an absolutely compelling heroine… FantasticRecommended! For crime fans everywhere!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Will take you on a journey that you’ll never forget… This story has it all! Totally recommended!… It will leave you sleepless for a couple of nights because you won’t be able to put it down!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“The feverish storytelling never lets up and the palpable sense of danger and menace lingers like a shadow with a scythe… An absolutely gripping thriller!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Grabs you round the neck and draws you into the book… I was left breathless at the endOutstanding.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Absolutely brilliant… had me gripped from the first few pages right through to the end… I LOVED it… I thought that I’d worked out who the killer was but was completely wrong and OMG THAT ending.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I really LOVED this book… Full of twists, turns and red herrings… Captured my attention from the very start and didn’t let me go again until the very last word… The drama left me breathless and my heart was pounding.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow what a fab read… I was totally hooked from the beginning to the end… Gripping.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“A rip-roaring fast-paced nail-biting crime thriller that’ll leave you wanting more and more, reading on till the very early hours… Unmissable.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From the Series: A George McKenzie Thriller

More From Marnie Riches