All the Pretty Ones

Marnie Riches

Publication Date: 07 June 2022

The girl is sitting upright, her dark brown hair arranged over her shoulders and her blue, blue eyes staring into the distance. She looks almost peaceful. But her gaze is vacant, and her skin is cold…

Seventeen-year-old Chloe Smedley walks out of the school gates and spots the person waiting for her across the road. She waves excitedly, hurrying towards them…

A week later, Detective Jackie Cooke is first on the scene when Chloe’s body is found. Jackie’s own little brother vanished as a child, and she has vowed to find justice for every other victim since. But as she looks at the way Chloe has been left sitting upright at a garden table, a chill in her gut tells her this case is bigger – and darker – than any she has known. She lays a protective hand on the baby in her belly, and vows to make the world a safer place for her children.

Then another body is found, posed in the same strange way, and Jackie feels certain she is hunting a monster who preys on the vulnerable. Her team won’t listen, but Jackie is convinced these victims are all connected – targeted for some terrible purpose.

But when she returns home soon after to find a multi-coloured friendship bracelet on her kitchen counter, her blood runs cold. It’s the same one her brother was wearing the last time she saw him, nearly thirty years before.  

Determined to follow every clue and prevent another innocent life being lost, Jackie realises that only digging into her own past will let her catch the killer. But he is already watching her every move… will she stop him before he strikes again?

An absolutely gripping crime thriller that will keep you racing through the pages. Fans of Kendra Elliott, Rachel McLean and Val McDermid will love All the Pretty Ones.

See what readers are saying about All the Pretty Ones:

Knocked it out of the ballpark!!!Fantastic!This is how you do it!!!! riveting-page turner that captured my interest from the very first page!… had me flipping the pages and glued to my seatGripping, captivating.’ Open Post Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Gripping… pulls you in in immediately… I could not get enough of it… Stunningkept me hooked and guessing the whole time.’ @rubie_reads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

YES, YES, YES, YESSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!… Absolutely flipping brilliant… You simply MUST read The Lost Ones, you must!… atmospheric, chilling, fast-paced, gripping, and downright incredible… I cannot WAIT to get my hands on the next book… Simply one of the easiest 5 stars I have given to a book, ever.’ The Writing Garnet, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Oh wowfantastickept me hooked beginning to end. I wanted to devour this brilliant crime thriller in one sitting… A brilliant 5-star read.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Full of many twists and turns!!amazing, I definitely recommend… I could not put down this book!!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Fantastic!… lots of twists and turns… scary and suspenseful… I cannot wait for the next Jackie Cooke book. The author better write fast. I read this straight through.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Absolutely AMAZING. Tense, thrilling, twisty and turny… fabulous… Loved it.’ Angela Marsons, bestselling author of the Kim Stone series

Crackingvery gripping, very intenseit’s just so so good, highly recommended.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A nail-biting crime novel you will want to devour in one sitting… exhilarating… had me chewing my nails to the elbow!… heart-pounding and hair-raising… unputdownablekeeps you reading all through the night.’ Bookish Jottings

More From the Series: Detective Jackie Cooke

More From Marnie Riches