A Truth Most Treacherous

Genevieve Essig

Publication Date: 15 August 2022

Cassie Gwynne—cat lover, bookworm and daring detective—takes on her most challenging case yet…

Florida, 1884. It’s a new year and Cassie Gwynne is determined to be done with the unseemly business of murder. She’s made her resolution and she’s going to stick to it. Unfortunately, fate has other plans… The very next day, she happens upon the body of a newcomer to town—customs collector Chester Pence—floating beneath the boardwalk.

Never one to shy away from a puzzle, Cassie can’t resist getting involved in the investigation. It’s no secret that Chester made a number of enemies in his short time in Fernandina: confiscating a beleaguered bride’s wedding dress and a bossy businessman’s cigars among many other mean acts. It’s even rumored a well-to-do lady with a pampered dog has been leaving him nasty little parcels on his doorstep, but would she stoop as low as murder?

But Cassie’s only just gotten started on her suspect list when a witness comes forward and accuses one of Cassie’s close friends, Mr. Hu, of the crime. Much to her surprise, he confesses. She is convinced he is innocent. Is Mr. Hu protecting someone?

Cassie continues to investigate, but when she returns home one day to find her aunt’s beautiful house completely ransacked, she knows it’s a warning. Can Cassie uncover the truth, or will the killer ensure this is her final case?

A warm and witty Gilded Age cozy mystery with a heroine you’ll be obsessed with! Fans of Deanna Raybourn, Verity Bright and T.E. Kinsey won’t be able to put this down.

Readers love the Cassie Gwynne mystery series!

Absolutely loved this book!! I was up all night reading and couldn’t put the book down! I highly recommend!! NetGalley reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

A thoroughly delightful read!… It was just fun to read… It made me smile, and made me want to read the next one RIGHT NOW. If you’re looking for a cozy mystery to take along on vacation or to curl up with on a Saturday afternoon, I highly recommend this.” The Plain-Spoken Pen, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“Just wonderful. Thrilling and suspenseful. A beautifully plotted mystery. Loved the historical element. Highly recommend this one.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Gripping and fast paced… The best… Made me smile… Full of twists!Scrapping and Playing

Loved this totally charming cozy mystery full of murder, intrigue, and a cast of characters I adored. Many twists and turns!” NetGalley reviewer

Fabulous… This is a brilliant read. Wonderful… had me engaged from the start. Love the characters.” NetGalley reviewer

More From the Series: A Cassie Gwynne Mystery