A Deception Most Deadly

Genevieve Essig

Publication Date: 14 January 2022

“Absolutely loved this book!!… I was up all night reading and couldn’t put the book down! I highly recommend!!” NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Meet Cassie Gwynne: cat lover, bookworm, reluctant heiress… and accidental detective?

America, 1883. Cassie Gwynne is hoping for a fresh start when she steps off the steamship to meet her Aunt Flora, a famous perfumer, for the first time. Having recently lost her father, her aunt is the only family she has left so she wants to make a good impression. She’s styled her unruly hair, shined her boots, and even purchased a whole new fashionable wardrobe. However, she’s certain finding a body is not very ladylike behavior…

While out exploring the beautiful southern island town of Fernandina, Cassie stumbles across the body of Flora’s least-favorite neighbor, Captain Peanut Runkles, lying at the foot of the harbor pilots’ lookout tower. To make matters worse, because of an ongoing feud between Peanut and Flora, including a very public clash over Flora’s pet pig and his fondness for Peanut’s vegetable patch, Flora is immediately accused of murder.

Cassie is certain her sweet aunt is innocent, and vows to prove it, to save her from a most unjust fate. It doesn’t take her long to realize the island is full of people who had reason to want Peanut dead, including a sniveling salesman and a bankrupt businessman who owed Peanut money. Soon, Cassie’s brilliant mind and nose for a clue lead her back to the scene of the crime and the mysterious colored glass found by the body… but what does it all mean?

Then an intruder at Flora’s shop throws Cassie off course. It seems sabotage is afoot, and the culprit is striking ever closer to home… Can Cassie get to the bottom of the case before her time on the island comes to a deadly end?

This warm and witty cozy mystery will introduce you to a feisty heroine far ahead of her time! Perfect for fans of Verity Bright, T E Kinsey and Deanna Raybourn.

Readers love the Cassie Gwynne mystery series!

A thoroughly delightful read!… It was just fun to read… It made me smile, and made me want to read the next one RIGHT NOW. If you’re looking for a cozy mystery to take along on vacation or to curl up with on a Saturday afternoon, I highly recommend this.” The Plain-Spoken Pen, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“Just wonderful. Thrilling and suspenseful. A beautifully plotted mystery. Loved the historical element. Highly recommend this one.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Gripping and fast paced… The best… Made me smile… Full of twists!Scrapping and Playing

Loved this totally charming cozy mystery full of murder, intrigue, and a cast of characters I adored. Many twists and turns!” NetGalley reviewer

Fabulous… This is a brilliant read. Wonderful… had me engaged from the start. Love the characters.” NetGalley reviewer

More From the Series: A Cassie Gwynne Mystery