A Plot Most Perilous

Genevieve Essig

Publication Date: 01 April 2022

Join Cassie Gwynne—bookworm, cat lover and super sleuth—as she gets herself entangled in a brand-new murder mystery!

America 1883: Cassie Gwynne feels like she’s finally found where she belongs, settling into her new life in Florida with her aunt and her mischievous kitten Esy. When a traveling theater group arrives in town Cassie can’t resist signing up for the chorus. But the production goes awry from the start and soon death takes center stage…

With costumes going missing and strange voices heard coming from the dressing room, the cast are convinced they are cursed. And when the lead actor, William Gage, has a fatal accident, Cassie is certain someone is deliberately targeting the play. Off-stage Mr. Gage was known as a notorious flirt, so could a jilted lover be out for revenge?

Determined that the show must go on, Cassie launches her own investigation into the peculiar events. She quickly discovers an expensive, embroidered handkerchief stashed away on the lighting platform. This part of the theater is supposed to be out of bounds, so could the cagey chorus girl or the uppity understudy have something to hide?

When she returns at night to look around, Cassie is almost flattened as the wooden scenery crashes to the stage. Is this just the latest in a long line of catastrophes or is somebody out to stop Cassie learning the truth?

Can Cassie solve the mystery and make it to opening night or will it be curtains for her too?

Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn, C.J. Archer and Verity Bright! This is a totally charming cozy mystery full of murder, intrigue, and a cast of characters you’ll adore.

Readers love the Cassie Gwynne mystery series!

Absolutely loved this book!! I was up all night reading and couldn’t put the book down! I highly recommend!! NetGalley reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

A thoroughly delightful read!… It was just fun to read… It made me smile, and made me want to read the next one RIGHT NOW. If you’re looking for a cozy mystery to take along on vacation or to curl up with on a Saturday afternoon, I highly recommend this.” The Plain-Spoken Pen, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“Just wonderful. Thrilling and suspenseful. A beautifully plotted mystery. Loved the historical element. Highly recommend this one.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Gripping and fast paced… The best… Made me smile… Full of twists!Scrapping and Playing

Loved this totally charming cozy mystery full of murder, intrigue, and a cast of characters I adored. Many twists and turns!” NetGalley reviewer

Fabulous… This is a brilliant read. Wonderful… had me engaged from the start. Love the characters.” NetGalley reviewer

More From the Series: A Cassie Gwynne Mystery