The Bridal Party

Maria Frankland

The moment she sees Caitlyn, wearing her ‘bride-to-be’ sash and brimming with excitement, it hits her. She hates Caitlyn. She knows who Little Miss Perfect really is – what she’s really hiding. And the temptation to do something about it is too strong to resist…

When the first bottle of prosecco pops open I breathe a sigh of relief. As maid-of-honour, I’ve worked so hard to organise my best friend Caitlyn’s big celebration before her wedding. Even though her schoolfriends are jealous they aren’t bridesmaids like me, and her sisters won’t make eye contact, I plaster a fake smile on my face and top up everyone’s glasses. Nothing will spoil this special weekend.

But as we begin the cute husband-and-wife games, Caitlyn’s sister-in-law reveals something shockingly cruel. In the silence that follows, the little question cards I’d made drop, forgotten, to the floor. We’re supposed to be celebrating her upcoming wedding but Caitlyn’s lied to me for years. Her relationship is far from the magical dream she’d made it out to be.

Suddenly, everyone in the room is arguing. All of our secrets and lies are exposed. It’s clear that none of us really know each other – or Caitlyn.

The next morning I find Caitlyn, beautiful, pale and unmoving in her bed. The bride is dead. One of us killed her. But which devastating truth was dangerous enough to kill for? And with us all stuck here until the murderer is found, how long will it be until someone else gets hurt…?

Perfect for fans of The Perfect Marriage, Lucinda Berry, and Freida McFadden, this is an utterly compelling and shocking psychological thriller with amazingly unexpected twists. This book was originally published as The Hen Party.

What readers are saying about Maria Frankland:

Wow what a book!… full of suspense and many twists and turns!… One of the best domestic thrillers I have ever read!I loved every minute!’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow, wow, wow!! What an excellent, gripping read this is! One of my favourite books this year.’ Amazon reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Captivating… A riveting tale of murder and mayhem… Brace yourselves for a genuine page-turner!A thrilling ride from start to finishGripping!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A page-turning psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seatSimply put, wowfantastica must-read…’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A brilliantly written and addictive read. I need to let my nails grow back… eek! Very much recommended.’ Amazon reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I started reading this after my tea, big mistake! I couldn’t go to bed until I had discovered everything!… I almost inhaled this book – the story was that good. And the twists!…’ Amazon reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Oh wow, what a read. This has to be one of the best domestic thrillers I have ever read… brilliant.’ Amazon reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I was hooked from the first page… It took me on a rollercoaster of a ride and I was gripped… full of twists and turns… I was still thinking about [it] long after I had finished the story.’ Amazon reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Addictive… I just had to finish it within one afternoon as I really wanted to see where it went, just loved it.’ Amazon reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

One of the best domestic thrillers I have read in ages. Had it all, love, hate, tension, remorse, sadness and justification. Loved every minute of reading it.’ Amazon reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Brilliant… I thought I had cracked it from the beginning, but I should have known there would be a twist!’ Amazon reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I loved this book!… When you can see what is happening and can’t do anything to help it drives you crazy!’ Amazon reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From Maria Frankland