I Let Her In

Maria Frankland

I tread quietly up the plush carpeted stairs. There’s no-one here to see me as Cassie and Jon’s bedroom door creaks gently open. I’ve watched them from afar for so long. Now I’m finally in their house. But there’s no time to waste. I’m here for a reason, and I’m going to get what I came for, whatever the cost…

I open the front door and there’s Amy, smiling sweetly and ready to help. She’s been a lifesaver since Jon and I moved here – from walking the dog to picking up my little son Teddy from nursery last minute. I’m so lucky we met in the playground the first day we arrived. Amy is more than just a good friend. My only friend, really.

Whenever Amy and Jon exchange glances I’m sure it seems like they’ve met before, even though Jon swears they haven’t. But then again Jon recognises lots of people from his childhood round here without truly knowing them. I’ve put it out of my mind. Just like my fear of being watched. I need to remember I’m safe now.

But today, when I turn up at Teddy’s nursery, I learn I was so, so wrong. The teacher tells me Amy picked him up an hour ago. Now they have both disappeared.

I am frantic. I will do anything to get my son back. I should have known I can’t trust anyone. Then the phone rings, and I know what I have to do…

An utterly absorbing and shocking psychological thriller with the most unexpected of twists, this novel is perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Mark Edwards and The Woman in the Window.

What readers are saying about Maria Frankland:

Electrifyingfilled with unexpected twists and turns… This gripping tale of deception, trust, and the lengths one goes to protect their family is a must-readBrace yourself for a rollercoaster of emotions and a finale that will leave you questioning everything.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I loved this book! The twists, the turns, and the unexpected! The paranoia that Cassie was feeling was so relatable! We have all heard those creepy sounds from inside the house and it just gave me a real feel of that nervousness. I couldn’t put this book down!@emily_readsalot, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

WOWbrilliantamazing… The story grips you right from the start with all the twists and you think you have figured it out and then another twist appears…’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Gripped me from the very first page kept me on the edge of my seat!highly addictive I was dying to know what would happen… A rollercoaster of a book that takes you on a ride you won’t want to forget!@arcreviews_by_m, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A taut and twisty thriller that left me gasping! I loved it!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This had me hooked from the beginning – it was full of twists and turns from all the characters – Jon, Cassie, Becca, and Amy… a wild ride.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A chilling, fast paced and twisty psychological thriller…! It’s dark and deliciously creepy and will keep you guessing til the very end!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow, a fabulous page turner full of twists and turnsfantastic.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What a rollercoaster ride… It hooks you right from the start and doesn’t let go until the very end… nail-biting.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow! This was so good. I couldn’t put it down and finished in one sitting.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From Maria Frankland