The Girl with the Red Hair

Imogen Matthews

My heart thrashes inside my chest as I watch my best friend get dragged away by German soldiers. I run towards her, begging them to stop, but then I see the gun. ‘No, please!’ I shout as panicked tears stream down my face. ‘Don’t hurt her!’ I’m the only one left who can save her…

1942, Amsterdam. The Nazi occupation has shattered the lives of inseparable best friends Hannie and Sonja. The canals and rainy cobbled streets they once strolled down are now patrolled by soldiers day and night, who arrest people at will and beat those who resist.

Hannie can’t stand by and watch the lives of the innocent be destroyed by the evil occupiers. At great danger to herself, she joins the underground resistance, where she meets the charming and mysterious Jan. She covers her bright red hair to avoid detection by the Nazis while distributing fake IDs. And she makes a promise to Sonja and her little sister Maya, who are Jewish – she will hide them and keep them safe, no matter the cost.

But as the German grip on the country tightens with each passing day, Sonja’s worst fears come true when members of her family are taken prisoner. With Jan by her side, Hannie goes undercover as a nurse to try to free them. But she’s devastated when she discovers they’ve been taken to a concentration camp in the isolated far east of the country. Is she too late to save them?

And when Sonja goes missing, Hannie is terrified the worst has happened – has someone betrayed her best friend? Hannie knows her most dangerous task is now ahead of her. Can Hannie save Sonja, and will she have to make the biggest sacrifice of all to bring her home?

Inspired by the incredible true-life story of a brave young Dutch woman who would stop at nothing to fight for justice and freedom, The Girl with the Red Hair is an utterly heart-wrenching and emotional World War Two novel of one woman’s bravery and sacrifice. Perfect for fans of Heather Morris, Kristin Hannah and Fiona Valpy.

What readers are saying about Imogen Matthews:

Heartbreaking… sure to have you flying through the pages from cover to cover. This amazingly suspenseful story is unputdownable and will definitely stay with you long after you finish the book. My heart broke for the wonderful, believable characters. I held my breath as my heart pounded faster and faster… a definite must read.” Page Turners, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I was blown awayinspiring, unputdownableGrippingmoving.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

SO GOOD. Wow. The author really makes you FEEL the emotions each character is having… The writing is so great… Absolutely loved this novel.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Heart-wrenching and suspenseful… heart-breaking… excellent characters, vivid descriptions and a nail-biting plot.” Sandy’s Book Talk, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow, what a page-turner!amazing… filled with unexpected turns and twists.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“A heart-stopping readbreath-taking.” I’m Hooked on Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Warning – do not begin this book while cooking food or doing laundry; the clothes will stay dirty and your food will burn, because it is unputdownable!! An incredible, heart-rending, page-turner of a novel.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

WowMy eyes were watering throughout… I highly recommend this book to everyone.” @readingwithgee, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From the Series: The Dutch Girls

More From Imogen Matthews