The Hidden Village

Imogen Matthews

Publication Date: 17 January 2022

A Nazi soldier slams his rifle into her father’s head. From her hiding place, Sofie stifles a scream as tears roll down her face. Suddenly she can’t take it any more. ‘Stop, stop!’ she sobs, rushing out and pushing the soldier away. And then freezes, as he snarls and whips the gun round to point at her…

1943, Nazi-occupied Holland: In fifteen-year-old Sofie’s beloved hometown, German soldiers patrol the streets. Each week more families disappear without trace, never to be seen again. When her family is threatened, they hide away in a neighbour’s secret attic, but Sofie knows her time – and luck – is nearing an end.

So when whispers reach her of a secret village, built by the townspeople and concealed in the woods as a haven for Jewish refugees, Sofie makes a desperate flight in the depths of winter to find it. Remote, cold and bleak, yet filled with the hopeful laughter of children playing, it is the one place Sofie has the chance to live.

But rumours of the hidden village have been swirling. The Nazis are determined to find and destroy it, and everyone who has found refuge there. As soldiers patrol the woods in ever-greater numbers, snow cuts the villagers off from the outside world. And when the worst happens, and the threat of starvation sets in, Sofie knows what she must do.

If the people of the village are to make it through, she must put herself in terrible danger and risk everything to seek assistance. But tragedy looms for the hidden village, and Sofie will need to find every ounce of her courage in order to just survive…

A young girl faces an impossible choice and an entire town puts themselves in danger to keep terrified strangers safe. Based on a true story, this heart-breaking World War Two novel will restore your faith in humanity. Fans of Fiona Valpy, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice will never forget this stunning, heart-wrenching tale or the real-life heroes who inspired it.

Readers love The Hidden Village:

‘This story was so heartbreaking and so inspiring I couldn’t put it downI absolutely loved this story. My heart was pounding… This phenomenal story is one you will never forgetI can’t recommend it enough.’ Page Turners Caroline ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Heart wrenchingan emotional and heartbreaking ride that will captivate you!’ Tropical Girl Reads Books ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Excellent!… So good I couldn’t put it downI read it in a dayI even found myself warning them when they were due to be raided – OUT LOUD!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

UnbelievableDrop everything as you will not want to put this down.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Powerful, inspiring, heartbreaking… An inspiring story about the bravery and kindness of ordinary people… It had me in tears.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I will never forget this unbelievable tale and the real-life heroes who inspired it… reading this book became addictive.’ Avid reader ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Heart-wrenching… My heart was in my mouth.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A phenomenal read.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Couldn’t put this book downI was transported through time and space and felt as if I was right there.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘An amazing story of survival.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Captivated and intrigued me right from the start till the very end… A gripping and fascinating WWII story!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Completely captivating… and heartbreaking.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Incredibly moving…’ cayocosta72

A heartwrenching novel…’ Christiannovelreview

More From the Series: Wartime Holland