The Lucky One

Jessica Payne

Publication Date: 14 September 2022

Ten years ago, I survived a serial killer. They called me the lucky one, but they don’t know the truth I’ve been hiding ever since…

Then: We danced together that night, our dresses glittering in the swirling lights. We couldn’t have known that for one of us, it would be our last night alive.

Now: Back in my hometown a decade later—the place I’ve avoided because of the memories—I can’t shake the feeling that I am being followed. I tell myself it’s all in my head, but the prickle on the back of my neck feels like a warning. Then the anonymous messages land in my inbox: I’m watching. I’ve been waiting for you.

I want to feel safe, surrounded by my closest friends. But everyone has something to hide and it’s impossible to know who I can trust.

When one of my best friends goes missing, her phone ringing through to voicemail, it feels like the past is about to repeat itself.

Someone won’t let me forget what really happened that night. What I promised. How I escaped. If the truth comes out, I only hope they can forgive me… I can’t make the same mistake again. I have to keep us all safe. What if, this time, I’m not so lucky?

An addictive, nail-biting psychological thriller, The Lucky One will have you sleeping with the light on. Fans of Stillhouse Lake, The Girl on the Train and Gillian Flynn will be totally hooked!

Readers can’t get enough of Jessica Payne:

Wow, what did I just read??? I cannot stop thinking about this… The pages just flew by as I was reading and sitting on the edge of my seat. I loved thisKept me up well past my bedtime.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

OMG!!!What an absolutely EXPLOSIVE non-stop, action-packed, suspense-rammed thriller!!! I picked it up this morning and I just could not put it down!!! One of the best books I have ever read… Do not even think about picking this up until you have cleared your schedules as you will NOT be able to put it down!!! Absolutely amazing, unputdownable, explosive.” Bookworm86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

WOW I am absolutely blown away by this fantastically twisty debut!Had my jaw on the floor… An extremely tense ride. Jessica Payne is a force to be reckoned with!@the.grim.readers, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

5 WELL DESERVED STARS! I was mad at life getting in the way preventing me from finishing this in one day!… Perfect, thrilling, heart-stopping… Once you start the first chapter you will not be able to stop!@cabingirlreads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What a blast this book is!I couldn’t put it down. I read way into the night because I could. not. stop. I am exhausted today and don’t care. Totes worth it!!” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What. Just. Happened?!??Shockers along the way that make you yell ‘WHAT?’My jaw did not stop dropping… A new fave author for me this year!” @caffeinereadrepeat, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

THIS is the thriller we’ve all been waiting for… I honestly could not put this book down and read it well into the night. I simply had to know what happened next!… A pulse-pounding, edge-of-your-seat thriller.” A Couple of B’s, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Woah, what a staggering debut novel! A total bombshell! This is a binge-worthy, unputdownable, grab you by the throat and hold on tight kinda of story. Just outstanding. I was sucked in from that very first page.” @rubie_reads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Stayed up WAY TOO LATE reading last night… The amount of twists and turns this book held was unreal. Every time I thought I had it figured out another twist came flying at me!@thrillbythepage, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow! Chef’s kiss to Jessica Payne… This one gave me serious You vibes… Will leave you wanting morewill keep you turning the pages late into the night. I can’t wait to see what this author comes up with next!” @thebookishsnow, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From Jessica Payne