Guilty Mothers

Angela Marsons

She lies on the floor, her blue eyes wide and unseeing, arms outstretched as if begging for help. Kneeling next to her, wearing a sequinned purple ballgown and holding a knife in shaking hands, is her daughter…

In a quiet kitchen, where two mugs wait by the kettle to be filled, Sheryl Hawne lies in a pool of blood. Her only daughter, Katie, is found at her side, still clutching the murder weapon and apparently incapable of speech. To Detective Kim Stone, the case seems open and shut. But Katie is in no state to be questioned, so Kim and the team must dig deep to understand what triggered this brutal act.

Soon, they learn that Katie participated in beauty pageants as a child, and her mother kept a shrine to her achievements. As Kim gazes at the golden trophies and shiny rosettes, she is forced to wonder if this was what set Katie on the path to murder…

But then Kim receives a shocking call. Another woman is dead. And with Katie safely locked up, she cannot be the killer. The second victim also entered her daughter in pageants, and a broken tiara is found thrust down her throat. Someone clearly feels that these mothers are guilty – and that they deserve to die. Forcing back the memories of her own monstrous mother, Kim vows to find justice for these women, no matter what pain they caused.

Now more than a day behind their killer, Kim races to learn more about a competitive world where appearances are everything and mothers will go to any lengths to ensure their daughters triumph. Buried somewhere in this dark past is the key to unlocking the case… but will Kim be able to find it before another family is destroyed forever?

The twentieth book in the international, multi-million-copy bestselling series, Guilty Mothers will have you glued to the pages. Fans of Karin Slaughter, Val McDermid and Robert Dugoni will devour this gripping crime thriller.

Can be read as a standalone.

See what everyone is saying about Guilty Mothers:

Wow! How do these just keep getting better and better… absolutely loved… I was gripped from the start… couldn’t love it morea must read!!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Oh. My. Word!… To say I loved this book would be a gross understatement. I loved it so much that I had to stop and go back and reread sections… stunninga one-sitting read, had me holding my breath, grabbing my cheeks, and holding back tears… amazing… Oh my! Now I have to wait for Book 21!’ Robin Loves Reading, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I already loved Kim Stone, but I love her more and more… excellent… I cannot find any other superlatives to describe how good it is… So I will invent my own: excelfanwonderticfullent. 5 stars.’ B for Book Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Gripping, compelling… fast paced and impossible to put down. A fabulous five star read.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Amazing… I love these books as they constantly keep me guessing, and suspecting everyone! I completely devoured this in less than a day and I already can’t wait for the next one.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The best so far… wonderfully done… I was spellbound and read the book in one day.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Just when I thought this series couldn’t get any better – BOOM!… A fantastic read.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From the Series: Detective Kim Stone