The Venetian Daughter

Ella Carey

Venice, 1943. How much will she risk to save the ones she loves?

Evelina has already lost so much: her sons are away fighting, her husband is dead, and most of her friends have fled the little valley that once felt like home. Her heart breaks in two once more when she receives a desperate handwritten note from her best friend Talia, a devoted Jewish schoolteacher in Venice: Help me.

Evelina rushes to Talia’s aid but finds an empty house and a swastika painted on the door. Then she hears a child crying and uncovers a little boy, with big brown eyes, hiding in the laundry chute. He tells her that his teacher, Talia, promised to come back for him but then the Germans arrived. Where is her dear friend?

The Nazis are rounding up Jewish children, so Evelina hides the boy in her parents’ beautiful house on the grand canal. Her mother and father are reluctant to help, but as they read to him every evening she sees their hearts begin to open. Too many innocents have already been lost to this war.

Evelina hears a whisper that nuns are hiding Jewish people, so every day she visits as many churches as she can. When Evelina finally uncovers Talia hiding in a roof, they are overjoyed to see each other. But as they descend a perilous wooden ladder, a Nazi officer appears, holding a gun. Certain that his icy blue eyes will be the last thing she sees, Evelina clutches her friend’s hand tightly, terrified in the city that it supposed to be their home.

With the Germans on their trail, Evelina cannot return to her parents’ house. Can she reunite her beloved friend with the little boy they both desperately want to keep safe? And will she find a way to get out of the city before it’s too late?

From bestselling author Ella Carey comes an utterly heartbreaking and gripping World War Two historical novel that will transport you to the canals of Venice and remind you to always hold onto hope. Fans of Kathryn Hughes, Fiona Valpy and Victoria Hislop will be totally enchanted.

What readers are saying about Ella Carey:

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ “Ripped my heart right out of my chest and made me cry so much… My heart achedIncredible.” The Book Lover’s Boudoir

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐️ “Wonderful! Wonderful!!!! I absolutely fell in love with this book!!!!!” Goodreads reviewer

Wow, wow, wow, wow!!!! So gripping, it had me hooked and unable to put it down until I finished the last shocking page!… I was flipping the pages so fast to see what would happen!” @DianeLikesToRead

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ “Heartbreaking, heart-pounding and heart-warming… Tears fellJUST WOW!… An amazing twist that I never anticipated or saw coming… Beautiful… I was pulled in from the first chapter.” Celebrating Authors

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ “Ohhhhh this book… I love this book… I was crying like a baby. That darn plot twist. I WASN’T READY OKAY?” Goodreads reviewer

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ “I wish I could give this beautiful book more stars! It is absolutely a Five Star Gold book! It is so well written and historical fiction at its finest!” Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Wow!… An amazing read… A rollercoaster of emotions… I smiled, cried and gasped.” Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Unforgettable… Truly amazing and I could not put it down. Make sure to put it on your must-read list this year. Emotional and utterly unputdownable.” Breakfast with Rachel

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “What a wonderful story, it gripped me from the first page until the last. I loved it… I wish I could give it more stars.” Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “I loved this story and right up to the end I was on the edge of my seat.” Goodreads reviewer

More From the Series: Daughters of Italy

More From Ella Carey