Gone by Dawn

H.K. Christie

You kissed your daughter goodnight. By morning, she’s gone.

Two days ago, FBI Agent Val Costa came face to face with a serial killer known as the Bear. One of only two women ever to survive, she’s forever branded with his signature: a curling “S” carved into her skin. Val knows it’s only a matter of time before he takes another victim.

Forced home to recover, Val returns to Red Rose County, California, to be with her son. But the very next day she finds the close-knit community panic-stricken over the disappearance of blonde-haired, freckled-faced local teen, Scarlett Douglas.

Defying orders, Val interviews the Douglas family at their farmhouse and uncovers a less-than-idyllic picture. Housebound since a devastating diagnosis, Scarlett’s world was crumbling. The sight of Scarlett’s unworn prom dress hanging in her room brings a tear to Val’s eye. She won’t sleep until this sweet girl is home and safe.

Val and her team search the nearby towering redwoods for any clue to what happened the morning Scarlett disappeared. But the case takes a sinister turn when a little pink teddy bear is delivered to Val’s door. Did the Bear follow her to Red Rose County? Is her family now in terrible danger? Could Scarlett be his latest victim?

Working around the clock, Val begins to question if the Douglases are the loving parents they claim to be. With time running out to save Scarlett’s life, and the truth just within her reach, will Val once again come face to face with the Bear? And who—if anyone—will survive?

A totally addictive and pulse-pounding crime thriller for fans of Lisa Regan, Mary Stone and Willow Rose. You won’t be able to put this page-turner down!

What readers are saying about H.K. Christie:

Fabu-licious read! What a thrilling rollercoaster of a fast page-turner. Hot darn, couldn’t put this book down for the life of me.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Explosive thriller, grabbed me from the first chapter.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

I finished this book in less than a day, if that tells y’all anything.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Positively SENSATIONAL!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Amazing, astounding and awesome.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘This is a brilliant read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Amazing book, kept me on the edge of my seat and sleep deprived.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars