The Diary at the Last House Before the Sea

Liz Eeles

‘Dear Diary, I have so much to keep secret. Maybe I am cruel to leave. But I have no choice…’

Thirty-one-year old Clara’s family have called their cosy cottage in the grounds of Brellasham Manor ‘home’ her whole life. And when River Netherway, the owner’s son, returns after sixteen years away, at first Clara is wary. They shared their first kiss as teenagers before River moved halfway around the world, and his soulful brown eyes look just the same.

Clara’s first heartache isn’t the only memory overshadowing the manor. More than fifty years ago, Audrey Brellasham lived here as a young bride and filled the house with love, laughter and dancing. Until one night, she walked into the stormy sea and was never seen again.

When Clara finds Audrey’s old leather-bound diary tucked away, she’s certain that deciphering the coded messages inside will reveal the secret truth about this mysterious woman. And as River helps her explore Audrey’s locked attic bedroom, preserved from the night she disappeared and filled with her beautiful ballgowns, they’re soon laughing together and forgetting all the reasons they drifted apart.

But when River’s father announces the manor, and the cottage, will be sold to developers, Clara’s mother is devastated that everything she knows and loves is disappearing. And with the elderly owner clamming up at any mention of the past, it seems Audrey’s story is lost forever.

But if Clara keeps searching, will she be able to save her mother’s home? Or will solving the secrets of the diary tear apart River’s family, and destroy any chance of happiness between them?

This book can be enjoyed as a standalone.

An absolutely stunning and uplifting story that will sweep you away to the wind-swept Devon coast. Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Jean Grainger and Barbara O’Neal.

Read what everyone’s saying about Liz Eeles:

Wow, wow, wow!!!! I absolutely loved this book!!!… I was captivated… The tears began flowing before I got to the end of the first chapter… my heart literally broke… wonderful… stunningkept me hooked until the very last word… Loved, loved, loved it!!!Stardust Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Captivating and heart-warming… A perfect summer read… I was absolutely hooked from page one until 1.30am in the morning when I finished having not been able to put it down.’ Bookworm1986, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Took me on a heart-warming journey… Set a smile on my faceI could not put this book down for I was completely lost in the storyEnchanting…I loved this novel so much.’ Cindy L Spear, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Fabulous… A wonderful story which I absolutely adored reading! I loved the family relationships… Perfect! A delightful read.’ Stardust Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Absolutely wonderful… such a heart-wrenching tale… touched me deeply.’ Featheronawire, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘What a deeply moving story!Nobody could read this without shedding some tearswonderfulamazing… I highly recommend this unforgettable novel.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Drew me in immediately. Absolutely gripping, addictive and captivating… I was absolutely hooked from the first page to the last.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From the Series: Heaven’s Cove