When the World Went Silent

Ellie Midwood

Berlin, 1942. “All I know is we will survive this together,” he says before kissing the tears away from my cheeks. But I know if the Nazis discover what we’ve done, how we’ve conspired against them, we will die together.

Deaf since the age of five, Mina has had to fight for everything she has, including her place at an Austrian university to study physics. She has never felt accepted—until she meets fellow student Siggy, and her heart stops at the kindness in his bright blue eyes.

But Mina’s world comes crashing down when the SS arrive at her door and escort her to Berlin. She’s terrified it’s because of her disability—she’s heard the awful rumours about the Nazi euthanasia program. So relief washes over her when she’s told as one of Germany’s brightest minds, she’s been recruited to work for the government.

Soon, this relief turns to horror when Mina learns why she’s truly here: they want her to build the atomic bomb that will win Germany the war. Mina knows if she refuses they will kill her. But if she does as they say, she could be responsible for the death of millions.

With Siggy’s help, Mina vows to do everything she can to sabotage the project. Will they save the world from a devastating catastrophe? Or will everything they’ve risked be in vain?


An absolutely unforgettable and page-turning WW2 novel about one woman’s bravery and determination to save millions of lives. Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Alice Network and The Nightingale will be gripped.

Readers love Ellie Midwood:

Ellie Midwood has done it yet again! Another heart-wrenching and unputdownable novelphenomenaloutstandingThis is a must read for historical fiction fans.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Be ready for an overwhelming, unputdownable, gripping, powerful and emotional novel, based on a true storyheartbreakingeverything one looks for in a historical WW2 novel.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow an incredible story could not put this book downA must read for EVERYONE.” @bandsbookclub, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Omg my heart. I ugly cried… The characters, omg what strength… They will stay in my heart. A must read.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Jaw-dropping… This is a book that needs to be read… Gut-punching… OMG I cried real tears at the end of this… And what a book this one is.” Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“An absolutely heartbreaking and unforgettable read… I can’t remember the last time I was so transported by a book… I can’t recommend enough!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From Ellie Midwood