The Codebreaker Girl

Gosia Nealon

1930s, Poland. We hold our breath as the gears turn, waiting to see if years of work have paid off. The operator looks at me with tears in his eyes. He nods his head. We’ve done it. The code has been broken. But with war brewing, will it be enough to save us?


After graduating as the first and only woman on her university course, orphan Beata is set on joining the Polish Cipher Bureau. She’s determined to save her country from invasion by cracking the Enigma code. But, as the Germans close in, Beata and her team need help…

Meeting with British intelligence, Beata passionately describes her work: and catches the bright, sparkling eyes of one of the agents, Harry. His excitement about her efforts with Enigma and how vital it is for all their futures makes her more determined than ever to do what’s right.

But those stolen moments might be their last. Any hope of preventing war is dashed as gunfire rings across the rooftops and boots sound on the cobblestones. The Nazis have made it to the city. Beata and Harry must flee.

With their duties tearing them in different directions, their only hope is to reunite at the home of British codebreakers, Bletchley Park. But carrying the final key to the Enigma code, and with the Nazis close on her tail, can Beata keep the secrets she holds safe and turn the tide of the war? And will she ever see Harry again?

Inspired by the true story of the brave Polish mathematicians who worked on the Enigma code, this completely addictive World War 2 historical novel is perfect for fans of Kate Quinn, The Tattooist of Auschwitz, and My Name is Eva.

What readers are saying about Gosia Nealon:

MUST READ! I couldn’t put this book down! Fantastic read from start to finish… Amazing!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I could not put it down… Read it past my bedtime, finishing it in one dayUnputdownable.” Vegan Book Blogger, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Heart-warming… Inspiring… Kept my attention at the flip of every page… AmazingHit all the emotions and left me heartbroken.” Page Turners, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Absolutely spectacular!!!Devastating, yet beautiful… Once I started, I could not stop… You won’t be able to put this one down… Grabbed my heart and it didn’t let go… An absolute MUST READ!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

SpectacularBrilliant… Heartfelt depiction of life during trying times of love, loss, and war brought me to the edge of my seat… Captivating.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Oh wow!… Page-turning… One of the best WW2 stories I have ever read.” Narimread, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Utterly heart-warmingHad me up until way past midnight.” Stamperlady50, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I couldn’t put this book downHad me sobbing.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From Gosia Nealon