The Childminder

Hayley Smith

You trust them with your child. You shouldn’t.

Each Monday after school, I look after my daughter Coralie and four other kids from her class. We go to the park when it’s sunny, snuggle on the sofa reading books when it rains. Tuesdays to Fridays, the other parents take them. It’s perfect – a circle of free childcare, of fun and friendship for our children. But this morning, we all received an anonymous note. And now I’m terrified.

I know your darkest secrets, it says.

None of you are what you seem. How could you have trusted each other with your children?

You have five days to tell the truth. Or there will be consequences.

My blood runs ice-cold.

I’ve hidden my darkest secret for years and can never reveal it. All the other parents must have secrets too…

And soon it becomes terribly clear: the sender isn’t joking. Because one of our group is killed.

Is someone we know responsible? Who will be next? And will revealing our secrets keep our precious children safe, or put them in even more danger?

A totally gripping psychological thriller packed with incredible twists you won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of Freida McFadden, Jackie Kablerand K.L. Slater.

What readers are saying about Hayley Smith:

OH MY GOODNESS!!!! What a read… A twisty, heart stopping ride of pure adrenaline… Could not put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

ExceptionalHad me hooked and completely engrossed… a rollercoaster of emotionsthrilling.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘The easiest 5 stars I have ever givenphenomenal every chapter left me wanting more… a must-read… masterpiece.’ bookishdems ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Everything I wanted from a thriller – exciting, fast-pacedbrilliantI couldn’t turn the pages quickly enough!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Loaded with surprises, dark twists, and creepy momentsspectacular!… highly recommend’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I couldn’t put this book down… This book has all the twists and turnsAmazing!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From Hayley Smith