A Helping Hand for the Village Nurse

Tilly Tennant

Among the emerald hills of the Lake District sits the village of Thimblebury and Wordsworth Cottage, its garden bursting with wildflowers. It is the perfect place for village nurse Ottilie to make her brave new start…

Ottilie Oakcroft never thought she’d live in a place like Wordsworth Cottage. Nestled close to the river, her new home in the tiny village of Thimblebury means all her patients are just a stone’s throw from her front door. As they drop in for cups of tea and cosy chats she ignores all the jobs on her to-do list and gets to know her new neighbours.

Yet maybe keeping busy is just what Ottilie needs, even if she’s barely had a minute to unpack her suitcase. Heartbroken after the death of her husband Josh, as she offers advice and hot soup from her kitchen to the villagers who clearly need a helping hand, she starts to feel part of a community again.

But disaster strikes when a terrible storm causes the river to burst its banks and flood Ottilie’s ramshackle cottage. She has sunk every penny she has into what she’d hoped would be her forever home, and now she’s faced with the prospect of losing it.

But the villagers have other ideas. They can’t bear to lose Ottilie and they make a plan to save her house. Leading the effort is handsome Heath, and as he rolls up his sleeves to get involved in the repairs, he and Ottilie start to open up to each other. Ottilie tells him about her loss, and he shares the pain of a marriage that ended in heartbreak for him.

Ottilie hasn’t talked to anyone like this since Josh’s death and while it scares her, a tiny grain of hope begins to grow. Could Heath be the man to make her feel life is worth living again – not just for her patients, but for herself?

A completely beautiful and romantic read about healing after heartbreak and learning that the darkest clouds have a silver lining. Fans of Shari Low, Jessica Redland and Jo Bartlett will lose their hearts to A Helping Hand for the Village Nurse.

What everyone is saying about A Helping Hand for the Village Nurse:

I absolutely adored this novel and devoured it over the course of a few nights because I just couldn’t put it down… I was so excited to read Ottilie’s story and I knew I was in for heartbreak after reading the first page. The scenery is absolutely gorgeous.… so moving and beautifully written.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This was such a good book! The setting was perfect. It would be a great summer read.. I could not put this book down.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I loved this book… A really good read. I am a big fan of Tilly Tennant and yet again she does not disappoint.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What everyone is saying about Tilly Tennant:

Literally couldn’t put it down! Makes you laugh and tugs at the heartstrings, all in one go!… absolutely perfect!… breath-taking… made me cry and it made me laugh… filled me with warm feelings… …’ Stardust Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From Tilly Tennant