Death in the Crypt

Fliss Chester

Lady Cressida Fawcett is expecting the cathedral crypt to be full of dry old bones. But when she finds a body murdered just moments before, she’ll need divine inspiration to solve her most mysterious case yet…

Winchester, 1925. When heiress and amateur sleuth Cressida Fawcett is invited to her aunt’s mansion on Cloister Close, she is looking forward to a quiet stay in the historic town. The views of the cathedral are heavenly – and her aunt’s maid, Nancy, makes devilishly good ginger biscuits! But it seems Cressy and her pug Ruby won’t be allowed to rest in peace… On a tour of the crypt, they are shocked to stumble across the body of Anthony, the gentle, devoted verger. And a wild-eyed Nancy is standing over him, bloodied candlestick in hand…

Since Nancy was caught red-handed and the only other suspect is the Silent Friar, the legendary local ghost, Detective Andrews of Scotland Yard thinks the case is closed. But Nancy swears she would never have killed Anthony; they were in love. And while Cressy may not believe in ghosts, she does believe Nancy. So, whose soul is full of murder most foul? And will they strike again?

As she digs through parishioner gossip, Cressy discovers that for a man of the cloth, the verger had a surprising number of enemies. Was a local antiques dealer driven to murder over an illegal trade in holy relics? Would the head bellringer kill to achieve his musical ambitions? Or is the saintly Dean, whose black-cloaked figure resembles the Silent Friar and whose wife recently drowned, hiding a deadly sin?

The cathedral conceals many secrets, and it seems Cressy will need a miracle to uncover the truth. But then Cressy finds a hidden passageway to the crypt. Is this how the murderer escaped? The sceptical police lack faith in her theories, but can she catch the killer and save Nancy from the hangman’s noose? Or will she be too late to prevent another funeral march?

A totally gripping and deliciously witty historical murder mystery with a gasp-out-loud reveal, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

What readers are saying about Fliss Chester:

Absolutely amazingI devoured thisWham the ending totally blindsides you. Wow, I absolutely did not see that comingfantastic.’ Page Turners, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Exhilarating… I am a huge fan… I whipped through it in a matter of hours. A delightful historical cozy that grips from the very beginning… Fabulous… SuperbKnocked it out of the park.’ Bookish Jottings, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I loved this! Found myself going to bed earlier and earlier so I could devour another few pages.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I devoured it in one sittingAbsolutely fantastic… Will keep you turning the pages and guessing right up until the end!!’ Bookworm86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I was totally captivated from the very beginning… I was holding my breathI can’t praise this book enough.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

So much fun. Think Wooster and Jeeves meets Downton Abbey doing a mystery. I was laughing out loud… Just super.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Absolutely gripping and utterly charming… Packed with wit, glamour and intrigue. The perfect whodunnit.’ Strange and Random Happenstance, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

What a rip-roaring adventure!… A classic whodunnit… kept me hooked from start to finish.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Loved loved loved… Fantastic… Couldn’t put it downGripping!!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

ExceptionalNail-biting… A terrific crime caper… Wonderful.’ Bookish Jottings, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I absolutely loved it… Clever, funny, charming.’ T.E. Kinsey, best-selling mystery writer of the Lady Hardcastle series

Very Agatha Christie-esqueI was always on the edge of my seat.@Fiction_Books, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

More From the Series: A Cressida Fawcett Mystery

More From Fliss Chester