The Fast Lane

Sharon M. Peterson

He’s the only person who can give me a ride to my brother’s wedding, and he’s also the one man I absolutely CANNOT have feelings for. My brother’s best friend is strictly off limits… Isn’t he?

I should have known my mom would go totally overboard packing for my brother’s big day. But much like my last break-up, I’d been optimistic (in denial) that it would all work out for me. Now, I can’t fit into the car. “Don’t worry,” my brother says, “I asked Theo to give you a ride.”

I flush all over and almost drop my phone. This is a BIG problem.

With his neatly trimmed stubble, fierce protectiveness and an affinity for plaid shirts rivalled only by his love of hiking, I’ve always had a crush on Theo. As a teenager, I’d even declared my feelings in a tragically bad poem. The rejection almost ended our friendship, and I’ll be taking that crippling embarrassment to my grave.

He’s the last person I want to be alone with on a six-day road trip; especially since I swore off men after my last relationship went up in flames. It would be a terrible idea anyway; he only sees me as his best friend’s little sister.

But as we fight over the playlist and are forced to share a night together when his car dies, it’s not distance that makes my heart grow fonder, it’s close proximity. Two thousand miles of flirting has my heart racing in the fast lane. Is it all in my head, or does Theo feel the same?

Will this be our second chance to go the distance, or will everything blow up in my face in the middle of my brother’s wedding?

An utterly hilarious and totally addictive road trip romantic comedy with sizzling but sweet chemistry and no third-act break-up. Perfect for fans of Emily Henry, Sarah Adams and Olivia Dade.

What readers are saying about Sharon M. Peterson:

INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!HEART-WARMINGVERY, VERY SWOON-WORTHY!!!!!! Finished it in a couple sittings. I usually like to make good books last, but I really couldn’t put this one down. Plot twisty? Funny? It’s all here.” Isabella, Journey to Pibe Creek ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Heart-warmingTopped the list of all the fake relationship stories I have read… HilariousLaugh out loud… I have stayed up at night to binge read this story… I am so happy I did that… I was hooked to it from the first line… Equal parts fun and emotional with tear-jerking moments.” @bookbyteswithkavita ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

FANTASTIC!… A page-turnerincredible… Like a big hug… My favourite tropes are sprinkled through this book like grumpy/sunshine, one bed trope, celebrity/nobody, and fake engagement… Keeps you HOOKED!” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Definitely got this girl’s heart a swoonin’Adorable!Perfection… Filled with all my favorite tropes: grumpy/sunshine, there was only one bed, fake relationship.” @LisaReadsThings ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I need a real-life Chris Sterns!… A ‘must-read’… Got me hooked right away! Chris had no right to be that sweet, funny and cute all the time!!… I loved this.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

To say I loved this book might be the understatement of the century!A dream cast, beginning with Mae and Chris… I loved everything about them… Stinking adorable… Had me chuckling out loud… Also had me practically biting my nailsBeautiful.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I cannot emphasize enough how much I enjoyed reading this… Had me laughing out loud… I basically read it all in one sitting! I was glued to my tablet… I cannot recommend this book enough!” Cassidy, Journey to Pibe Creek ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Oh my gosh I adored this book!… So sweet and swoon-worthy.” @debbiereadsbooks ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From the Series: Two Harts