The Surprise Party

Julia Crouch

This trip was meant to save our marriage. Instead it will destroy everything…

To celebrate my special birthday, my husband and I have returned to the beautiful Greek island village where we spent our honeymoon. As the boat pulls in to the harbour, I feel hope rise in my heart. The white houses, the blue doors, the brilliant turquoise of the sea, are just as I remember. If two weeks in this paradise won’t fix our marriage, nothing will.

But then the next day a boat arrives, full of my friends and family. My grown-up children jump on to the shore, grinning and holding balloons. My husband beams at me and says, “Surprise!”

I can’t believe it. It was meant to be just the two of us. This was my chance to confess what I’ve been hiding for years, the truth that will change everything.

Now I’m surrounded by all the people I’ve been desperate to escape, all the secrets I’ve been pretending I don’t know. I force a smile on to my face, but inside I want to kill my husband.

But even after my party ended in disaster, I didn’t expect anyone to die…

A completely gripping psychological thriller about the darkness at the heart of a family and how far a mother will go to protect her children that will keep you glued to the pages as you discover twist after twist. Fans of Lisa Jewell, Ruth Ware and Lucy Clarke will love The Surprise Party.

See what readers are saying about The Surprise Party:

The twists in this book are insane! They just keep coming like buses honestly right until the last page. I was in shock… Each and every one of the twists were unpredictable… fantastic!Jessica’s Book Biz, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

LOVED LOVED LOVED this book!!… absolutely perfect… There was a crazy twist at the end of each chapter which made it impossible to put down!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow!… the best I have read this year… I could not put this down… so many twists and turns which I never saw coming. Brilliant.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘You can’t trust anyone in this book, and I didn’t see some of the twists coming at all. Absolutely loved it!… Highly recommended.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wowthrilling… so many secrets and plenty of twists and turns… a fantastic summer thriller which I can’t wait to recommend.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Edge-of-the-seat read… was hooked from the first page and read it in almost one sitting.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I was glued to my Kindle the whole weekend… a drop-everything book, full of suspense… 5 stars!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Been a fan for a while now! Mind-bendingly dark and deep… Intricate plotting, devious twists and excellent characterisation take this tale to a whole new level.’ Goodreads reviewer

More From Julia Crouch