If I Can Save One Child

Amanda Lees

France, 1942: Robert curls sleepily into me, his tiny hand grasping mine like a lifeline. He’s been so brave, this little boy who has been through the unimaginable. As his eyes close, I wonder how much longer we can go on. But I promised to save him. And I can’t give up now…

Young linguist Elisabeth has been working for the British secret service since the war began, rescuing downed pilots and Jewish refugees. Now the Gestapo are on her trail: her next mission must be her last. Or she may never see the white cliffs of Dover again.

But she can’t even think about abandoning her post when so many remain in danger. So when daredevil fellow agent Guy arrives with a frantic plea, there was never any doubt that Elisabeth would help. Somewhere in occupied France is a little boy, the last survivor of a Jewish orphanage, desperately trying to make his way to safety. They have to save him.

Elisabeth knows the mission may be suicide. But she also knows she could never live with herself if she didn’t try to save this child. And so she and Guy set off on one last journey together, into the mountains. For freedom – for this child – they’ll risk it all…

Based on the heartbreaking, compelling true stories of the women and men who risked everything to save thousands of innocent lives, this completely addictive novel is perfect for readers of My Name is Eva, Marion Kummerow and Mandy Robotham.

What readers are saying about Amanda Lees:

Impossible to put down extraordinary… a must-read. I wish I could give this book more than five stars.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Heartbreaking… I cried so many times… I couldn’t put it downIncredible… I highly recommend it.’ Page Turners ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

IncredibleAbsolutely fascinatingjust brilliant… filled with tension and edge of your seat stuff… I found myself racing towards the finish line with my heart in my mouth.’ Shaz’s Book Blog

‘I read this book in one day. OmgI seriously cried.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Gripping Unputdownable!Splendid! Superb.’ Vegan Book Blogger ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

BeautifulEmotional… A story of bravery, survival, strength, friendship and love with the most perfect ending. A page-turner that had me up until all hours… highly recommended.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

PhenomenalI loved every minutecaptivatingI loved it and highly recommend it.’ Page Turners ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

SpectacularOh, I love this!phenomenal.’ Goodreads reviewer

I feverishly tore through the chaptersspellbinding.’ @booksreadbyaprairiegirl

Exceptionalheart stopping.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

10 out of 10I read this within a day.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From Amanda Lees