The Perfect Housemate

Lorna Dounaeva

You let her in. You shouldn’t have…

I was so nervous about someone new joining our house share; after everything that happened with my parents, my friends are like my family. Our imperfect but well-loved house is the only place where I can be myself. But when Poppy knocks on our door, blonde hair, wide eyes and a friendly smile, we all agree she’s a perfect fit. I just wish I could shake the feeling that I’ve seen her before…

At first, everything runs smoothly. But one day, Poppy arrives home with my housemates in tow. She says she ‘forgot’ to invite me to the movie. My stomach drops. As she sidles up to my friends, I’m gripped by a familiar panic. If Poppy is from my past, will she turn my friends against me? Will she tell them the secret I’ve so carefully buried?

I feel like Poppy’s watching my every move. My home used to be the place where I felt most comfortable. But as she places a delicious homecooked meal in front of me, I don’t even feel safe eating here.

I have to find out who she really is, and what she wants.

And when I do, will she realise too late which one of us is truly dangerous?

An absolutely gripping page-turner about the dark secrets harboured by the people closest to us. Fans of Shari Lapena, Lisa Jewell and Sally Hepworth won’t be able to put down The Perfect Housemate!

What readers are saying about Lorna Dounaeva:

A WILD ride!… There are some absolutely shocking twistswill keep you on the very edge of your seat towards the end. I absolutely loved this one!@whatanniereadsnext, 5 stars

OH my word! This was one wild ride, twisted from the beginning and kept me guessing. I loved this book so dang much!’ NetGalley reviewer

DELICIOUSLY TWISTY!… Gosh once it reaches the part of the plot where everything begins to unravel it feels like you’re going at lightning speed. Full of twists and turns… jaw-dropping Even juicier than you expected.’ @onlyshelves

I read The Wife’s Mistake in a day I couldn’t put it down more twists and turns than you can shake a stick atIt had me hooked from page onekept me enthralled to the end. A highly recommended 5 star read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

I was constantly on edge, needing to know what was going to happen next! Every time I thought I knew, I was wrong. Twist and turns in almost every chapter… hard to stop reading. The ending was another twist I never saw coming! Truly an amazing story.’ Goodreads reviewer

Really grabbed me from the very first chapter… A LOT of different twists and secrets… A slow burn that was definitely worth it. Definitely add this one to your TBR.’ @pretty_andpinkbooks

The biggest SHOCKER happened I was Like NO WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!… I can’t say enough about the ending, it was terrific.’ Goodreads reviewer

A very addictive read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

I absolutely loved this book!… Held my interest the entire time… the book had suspense, mystery, tension, and shocking twists.’ Goodreads reviewer

More From Lorna Dounaeva