Murder on the Home Front

F.L. Everett

England, 1941. With World War Two shaking the nation, rookie reporter Edie York wants to write the front-page news. But she ends up as the headlines when she stumbles over a body on the moors…

Eager to follow Churchill’s order to keep calm and carry on, Edie York has left the bombed-out streets of Manchester behind for a stroll in the countryside. But her rationed picnic lunch turns to ashes in her mouth when she discovers Joyce Reid, a well-known anti-war activist, lifeless at the bottom of a cliff.

Despite infuriatingly handsome DCILouis Brennan’s less-thanamused warnings ringing in her ears, Edie is unable to leave the conscripted local bobby to do his work. Heading off to investigate, she immediately uncovers potential suspects galore. From alleged black-marketeers to the local land girl, a shell-shocked artist to Joyce’s on-off lover, Edie is sure the murderer is right under her nose.

Then Edie makes another gruesome discovery, and realises she needs long-suffering Louis on the scene to officially investigate. Can they uncover the killer hiding in plain sight, before it’s too late? Or will Edie’s own obituary end up featured on the front pages she’s coveted for so long…?

A fantastically gripping historical cozy mystery perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Agatha Christie. This is the second book in the Edie York Mystery series.

Readers love F.L. Everett:

‘I finished this yesterday and it’s bloody brilliant!wonderful… so clever and wittyLoved it.’ @clareswatmanauthor

‘Once I started this, I just couldn’t stoploved… reading this book felt like watching a deliciously nostalgic Sunday night drama I thoroughly enjoyed every minute.’ Bestselling author Jill Mansell

‘An addictive, authentic page-turner: Edie York has the makings of a classic amateur detective in the great Golden Age tradition.’ Erin Kelly, bestselling author of He Said / She Said

Extremely entertaining and pacey WWII-set murder mystery.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

From the very first page I was completely immersed in Edie’s world… I loved all the characters instantly and can’t wait to read the next in the series.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From the Series: An Edie York Mystery