The Last Day in Paris

Suzanne Kelman

No, Mama, please don’t make me leave!” Sophie cries, clutching her teddy bear as her blue eyes fill with tears. “I’d rather be here in Paris with you, than far away somewhere safe…”

Paris, 1940: All over Paris, families are being pulled from their beds in the middle of the night. And ever since her husband was shot in cold blood, Brigitte Goldstein has known she is running out of time. She and her daughter Sophie are Jewish, so it won’t be long until the Nazis bang on their door.

But before she leaves, Brigitte must find her beloved husband’s painting, which was seized by the Nazis. She desperately hopes that if she saves it from destruction, then a piece of him will live on forever. And perhaps one day her daughter will uncover her father’s legacy, and the secret hidden inside…

Working in a museum under a false identity is Brigitte’s only hope. Until she meets Isabelle Valette, who confides in hushed tones that she is part of the Resistance. And when her new friend tells her of a train leaving Paris that can take children to safety, Brigitte knows her daughter must be on it, even if it breaks her heart.

But getting Sophie onto the train is dangerous. If they are caught smuggling a Jewish child out of Paris, they will be killed. And with the enemy closing in, can Brigitte get her beloved daughter to safety before it is too late?

The first utterly gripping novel in the Paris Sisters series, this is the story of two brave women and a secret that will tie them together forever, as the Second World War rages around them. Perfect for fans of Roberta Kagan, Kristin Hannah, and Fiona Valpy.

Readers are loving The Last Day in Paris:

Once I started I could not put this book downReached into my heart and pulled every emotional string imaginable. It left me in tearsKept me on the edge of my seat… holding my breath at times. Guaranteed to make you cryStunningGorgeousThere’ll be lots of tears!Cindy L Spear ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

AddictiveI can’t stop thinking about itGrabbed me and won’t let go.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“A powerful, heart-wrenching war story… This story ripped my heart outAmazingTruly remarkableI won’t forget anytime soon.” @creaseinthespinebooks ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

HeartbreakingYou could devour [it] in one sittingcaptivating.” @Amelia_reads ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Phenomenalwas able to pull on my heartstringsBeautifulAmazing.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Heart-wrenchingGrips readers from the first page and refuses to let goTugs at the heartstringsPrepare to be moved to tears.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“A powerful, heart-wrenching read… Fantastic.” Christian Bookaholic ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I felt so many different emotions moving through the novel… Fantastic.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GrippingUnexpected twists and turns that kept me on the edge of my seat.” @annasbook.nook

WonderfulGuaranteed to keep one turning the pages!Incredible. I can’t wait for the next one!” Goodreads reviewer

I was hooked from the very first pageI felt all the emotions.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Loved it!! The next book in the series cannot come out fast enough.” Goodreads reviewer

More From the Series: The Paris Sisters