The Cry

S.D. Robertson

We thought it was nothing. Now she’s missing…

I look at our neighbours gathered in the garden for our annual summer barbeque, sipping chilled wine and smiling at my two daughters sprawled on the grass. I go inside to help refill glasses and then I hear it. A shrill scream that stops me in my tracks.

I race outdoors to silence, a sea of bewildered faces. My first thought is for my girls, but they are there unhurt. With relief, we push the chilling sound to the back of our minds, returning to our drinks and conversations like it never happened.

But it’s a terrible mistake. The next morning, we wake to the news that Jenna, my younger sister, who often babysits my daughters, is missing. A frantic search begins, and when Jenna’s slender gold necklace is discovered in the bedroom of our strange neighbour, suspicion falls on him.

But he denies knowing where Jenna is and there are little details that are keeping me awake at night. One of my daughters has a secret about Jenna that I know I should share with the police. But I don’t want anyone to look too closely at our family. Because then our secrets will come to the surface. And I’ll do anything to prevent that…

A completely unputdownable page-turner that will have you utterly hooked. Fans of Lisa Jewell, K.L. Slater and Freida McFadden will be gripped by The Cry.

What everyone is saying about S.D. Robertson:

Absolutely hooked from the first page… I thought had this sussed but oh my, was I wrong!! Fab fab read.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Oooh, what a twisty mind-benderDevoured it… DID I REALLY READ WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENED? Yes, I did… A rocket ride… Highly recommended.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘A page-turner. I could not put this book down.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘What an absolutely brilliant book this is. I was hooked from the very first page and that continued to the very end. So many twists and turns, I couldn’t put it down.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I was hooked on this book right from the start and could easily have read it in one sitting.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘Amazing!I couldn’t put it down from the very beginningIncredibly clever and unique from anything I have ever read… The twists are unexpected and brilliant. The ending was satisfying, and I had all the feels after finishing this… Y’all read it when it comes out!!! If you like Lisa Jewell you will love this author’s writing. Trust me!’ Ash Is All Booked Up, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From S.D. Robertson