The Girl from Provence

Helen Fripp

‘Heartbreaking… Will remain in my heart for a very long time. I loved everything about this… Do not let another day go by without reading this… Phenomenal. Definitely worth ten stars… Unputdownable’ Page Turners, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

South of France, 1942. Twenty-one-year-old Lilou is selling lavender honey in the village square when the Nazis arrive in her beloved Provence. And when her best friend is dragged away simply for being Jewish, Lilou is horrified. As the village begins to take sides, Lilou secretly swears through angry sobs that she’ll sacrifice everything to fight for what’s right.

Drawn in to the French resistance, soon Lilou is smuggling hidden messages in fresh-baked loaves of bread and meeting Allied pilots in remote moonlit fields. She lives in fear that Kristian, a blue-eyed German soldier, knows about her work – but does he keep her secrets because he is undercover, too?

Everything changes when Lilou is given her most important task: to keep a frightened little boy, Eliot, hidden safe in her farmhouse. All alone in the world, Eliot refuses to speak as he clutches his treasured children’s book close to his chest. Inside is a beautiful story of stars, planets and the night sky. But why is this innocent child the one, among thousands, who Lilou must save?

When she is told Eliot’s book will help her decipher coded messages, Lilou knows he must have knowledge that could change the course of the war. But the day Kristian arrives at her farm searching for hidden Jewish families, Lilou is terrified that Eliot is in more danger than ever…

Can Lilou trust the one person who could tear her world apart? And will she ever help Eliot find his way home?

A totally stunning and heartbreaking read about the incredible sacrifices ordinary people are forced to make each day in wartime. Perfect for fans of Fiona Valpy and Rhys Bowen.

Read what everyone’s saying about The Girl from Provence:

Wow! I couldn’t stop thinking about the book even after I’ve finished reading it! It was as if I was transported… I found tears falling down my face… Definitely a beautiful read.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Oh my heart… this one got me right in the feels… my heart fell head over heels… Grab your Kleenex because your heart will break and your tears will fall!@thebooknerdmomma

I was gripped… the heart-stopping moments came in thick and fast… kept me turning the pages late into the night… Add this to your 2024 ‘must read’ lists… will stay with me for a long time.’ French Village Diaries, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I loved this story!… will stick with me for a long time.’ @readwithjackalope, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Amazing!Heartbreaking, full of tense situations, and also full of loveThis was incredible… I loved that I never knew what would happen next.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Superb historical fiction… I loved all the wonderfully crafted characters… It will be with me for a long time to come.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘You know you’ve just finished a really special book when it comes to a close and you miss the main character already.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Beautifully written… I was awestruck… Intense and fast-paced… Your heart will breakExceptional.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘This book was very unique in my eyes… I was captivatedPowerful.’ Goodreads reviewer

More From Helen Fripp