The Garden Party

Wendy Clarke

As families gather in the shared garden, drinking lavish cocktails that have been arranged on pretty checked tablecloths, Rachel finally feels at home. Her new house is the perfect escape from the terrible mistakes she’s made. Until she finds out that a little girl drowned in the pond at the centre of this circle of picture-perfect houses…

Years ago, a tragedy struck the tree-lined street. The community was devastated: they held each other close, and tried to support the poor mother who lost her young daughter, Maddie. But she soon moved away, and the house has sat untouched ever since.

Who was supposed to be looking after Maddie that day? Did someone take their eyes off this innocent little child? Just as fast as everyone speaks up, they start to become tight-lipped. Is the house the key to uncovering what someone did all those years ago? Is there a reason no one has stayed very long at number two?

But when Rachel sees a picture of Maddie’s sparkling eyes and wide smile in a newspaper clipping, a memory floods back. And she knows she cannot leave. She’s the only person who will do whatever it takes to find out the truth, even if it puts her life in terrible danger…

A twisty and utterly unputdownable thriller about the secrets hidden behind closed doors. Fans of Lisa Jewell, Freida McFadden and K.L. Slater will be up all night desperate to keep reading.

What readers are saying about Wendy Clarke:

‘I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN. I didn’t even realise I hadn’t eaten because I was too busy reading… It was gripping, it was tense, fast-paced and full of twists, it was so unpredictable that I just didn’t even know who I was anymore. I loved it.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘OMG!! WOW!!… OH YES!!!… a book that EVERYONE will be talking about!! I can see this being a bestseller… BOY. OH. BOY… Incredible read!!… Clear your schedule for this book!… Will suck you in like never before!… Mind-blowing… LOVED this book!’ Heidi Lynn Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I LOVED THIS PHENOMENAL, GRIPPING BOOK. I raced through it, it consumed me in its pages… A shocking conclusion which left me gobsmacked… Brilliant… HOOKS YOU FROM THE START. LOVED IT! LOVED IT! LOVED IT!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

One word, brilliant!… I felt dizzy and loved every single minute… had me gripped from page one, and just as I thought I had the plot figured out, another twist happened.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Holy heck!! I have no words for this book! It was twisted beyond measure! I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough! This book will be with me for a long time to come!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Literally had me missing a heartbeat because I just couldn’t work out where this story was leading me… Had me hook, line and sinker ‘til the very end… My eyes were on stalks reading the last couple of pages. Wow.’ Echoes in an Empty Room, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

A real rollercoaster of suspense, lies & twists. One of the best psychological thrillers I’ve read this year. I made my mind up many times, only to be proven wrong each time. The last 30 pages had me almost holding my breath.’ @raena_reads, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Made me gasp out loud!!!! What a great ride. Pulls you in like nothing else. One of the best books that I have read this year. It’s over but I don’t want it to be.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘What an absolutely amazing read!… You’ll be racing to the last page… full of uncertainty, anxiety and rounded out with nerve-wracking tension.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Wowwwwww this one was fantastic!!!… A knockout! The characters were fantastic and this was such a good thrill.’ Simply Murt, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

More From Wendy Clarke