The Girl with a Secret

Kate Hewitt

Rosa’s blood runs cold. He hasn’t seen her yet, but she would recognize those blue eyes anywhere. Will he reveal her secret? And if he does, how will she ever survive?

Germany, 1939: When Rosa Herzelfeld boards the SS St Louis, she doesn’t believe its promise of freedom. Surely there can be no escape from the Nazis, not even on the other side of the world. Besides, she knows that no matter how far she travels, there is no escaping her past…

When the ship is refused entry to Cuba, Rosa finds herself penniless and alone in England. Desperately trying to make this strange country home, the last thing she expects is to fall in love. But when she meets fellow refugee Peter, she is surprised by how quickly his gentle smile and warm brown eyes help her forget the horrors she left behind.

As their affection deepens, Rosa grows fearful. Should she tell Peter about the terrible decisions she was forced to make to survive in Germany, or simply pray he never finds out? Deep down, she begins to realise that she must tell him the truth…

But before she can, Rosa is sent to a remote internment camp on the Isle of Man. And when fate finally reunites her with Peter, her past is threatening to catch up with her. With time running out before her secret is revealed, Rosa must make an impossible choice…

This second book in the Emerald Sisters series tells a heartbreaking and unforgettable story about hope, second chances and the resilience of the human spirit. Perfect for fans of The Orphan Sisters and My Name is Eva.

Readers love The Emerald Sisters series:

WOW! This book completely hooked me from the first page to the lastI literally couldn’t put it down… Amazing.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

BeautifulI was hooked from the very first page. A phenomenal novel… I was heartbrokenKeep the tissue box close by because you will surely need it. This unputdownable gem of a read is definitely a favourite… I love everything about this story… [a] ten star read.” Page Turners ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Hard to put down read!!… Amazing… I couldn’t put the book down for a minute!” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Hooks you from the beginning pagesa book that you won’t want to put down.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Unforgettablewill stay with you long after you’ve finished reading.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Heartbreaking… Absolutely brilliantOutstanding.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

AmazingBeautifulI found myself not wanting the story to endA tearjerker.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Powerfulcompletely consumed meFabulous.” Christian Bookaholic ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Exceptional… I loved it. I couldn’t put it down.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Will tear your heart out but leave you with hope… A must-read!” @diane.likes.to.read ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Kept me on the edge of my seat for the entire book… I need the next one!” @booksreadbyprairiegirl

HeartbreakingI really could not put this book down.” @Inspiredbypmdd ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From the Series: The Emerald Sisters

More From Kate Hewitt