The Guest Room

Rona Halsall

Publication Date: 31 January 2022

‘OMG… Incredible… Once I started, I couldn’t put down and simply had to read in one sitting… I loved this fast-paced, captivating thriller and would happily give it more than five stars if I could… Definitely one of my favourite reads of this year.’ Nicki’s Life of Crime ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

You think you’re safe in your home. You’re wrong.

When Steph’s husband of thirty years, Andy, walks out with barely a word of explanation, she’s left alone in the family home. Both of their children moved out years before, and although her daughter visits often, her house no longer feels like the warm, happy, laughter-filled home it used to be.

Then she begins to hear noises in the night, finds open windows she knows she left closed, items moved. Is someone trying to scare her? She tells herself it’s all in her imagination: who would want to scare her when she’s never hurt a single person in her life?

But then her front window is smashed, and she knows someone’s out to get her. So when a young man named Noah helps her fix it, and she discovers he’s fallen on hard times, Steph impulsively offers him a place to stay. He reminds her so much of her beloved son, and she wants to help him. Also, if he is there, she won’t be alone.

Before long Noah is living in her daughter’s old bedroom, paying rent, and getting his life back on track. Andy and her daughter are furious. But Steph feels secure at last, and that’s what matters.

Until the strange things start happening once again. And Steph realises that she’s in more danger than she could have ever imagined…

And her home will never, ever feel safe again.

The most twisty and unputdownable psychological thriller of the year – perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Mark Edwards and Gone Girl.

Readers are loving The Guest Room:

Oh my days. What a book!!WOW!!!… One hell of an adventure!!!!!!! I sped through the book… the next thing you know you have finished the book and it’s nearly 1am!!… She creates believable characters, gives you some red herrings to grill and then pulls the rug from out under you with a plot twist! Just love it!!!!!Zooloo’s Book Diary ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

O.M.G. This book blew my socks off. It was just brilliant! I love a book that slaps you into shock in the end. This was one I will remember… 10 stars.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Loved, loved, loved it!!! A gripping, edge of your seat read to keep us guessing right up until the end!!The plot twist was goooood!’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

My oh my, where to start……. Ohhh, a tense thriller that kept me glued right to the end… Man, this one is a good one… What an excellent book.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow!… This book got into my head When I thought I had it figured out, the plot went in a very different direction with a shocking ending… Many twists and turns and dark corners in the story… Unforgettable.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow! What a crazy twisted story! BAM!! What a twist!… Suspense, intrigue, action, and many twists and turns! I definitely recommend reading this book!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Will grab you from page 1 and keep you engrossed until the very end. I LOVED all the twists and turns and thought I knew exactly how this was going to end but boy was I wrong!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐

GrippingMy jaw hit the floor… I’m still reeling… I was on the edge of my seat wondering what would happen next… Compelling, tense and utterly riveting… An outstanding thriller.’ Emma’s Biblio Treasures ⭐⭐⭐⭐

More From the Series: Totally gripping thrillers by Rona Halsall