A Secret Garden

Katie Fforde

Publication Date: 13 September 2017

Step inside this beautiful novel to discover friendships, secrets and romance…


When Philly starts a new job, working with Lorna in the gorgeous grounds of a beautiful manor house, it marks a turning point in both of their lives.

Philly has never been in love before and is constantly disappointing her mother with her unwillingness to settle down. But all that changes when she meets Lucien, a free spirit with an intriguing past…

Lorna is learning to embrace life on her own, until dashing Jack sweeps her off her feet in a whirlwind romance. But is this what Lorna really wants?

When the two women discover a secret garden in the manor house grounds, they are encouraged to restore its forgotten beauty in time for an unforgettable end of summer party. As they work together, secrets are revealed and relationships tested. Will they both find the happy endings they are looking for?

Set against a stunning backdrop, this utterly charming and romantic story is certain to make you smile. Perfect for fans of Susan Mallery, Mary Kay Andrews and Debbie Macomber.

Read what everyone is saying about A Secret Garden:


Fantastic. I have given this book 5 stars because from the first to the very last page I was held in the magic… definitely a must buy.’ Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

An utterly delightful read that put a huge smile on my face. There is plenty of romance, wonderful characters and therapeutic gardening all wrapped up in a typical Fforde-sque writing style.’ Amazon reviewer, 4 stars

‘This was an absolutely delightful read. I was lost in the pages and in the secret garden and was so sorry to come to the end… It’s full of wonderful friendships, relationships and families.’ Goodreads reviewer, 4 stars

Charming and cosy – as expected!… cosy settings, a community united (here in restoring a forgotten garden), a charming heroine or three, some dashing love interests, a supporting cast of quirky characters and some gentle humour… This is a curl-up-with-a-cup-of-tea-and-lose-yourself book.Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

I adored this book!… This is a light happy read that left me waiting for the next Katie Fforde book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Another brilliant book from Katie Fforde!… The plot is very well woven with the discovery of a secret garden, about half way through the book, being the magical icing on the cake and bringing them all together at the end. It is well written, funny in places, heart-warming throughout. I loved it and if you are looking for a happy ever after read then this is the book for you.Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

The Secret Garden offers fun and frolics and the sweet, gentle storytelling we have come to love from the mistress of romance… Reading a Katie Fforde novel is like sinking into a warm and fragrant bath. Candles are lit, a box of chocs is on hand, ‘real life’ is left outside the bathroom door and it’s our time to drift and dream and believe. What’s not to love?’ Goodreads reviewer, 4 stars

Romance, humour and a good story… What more could a reader ask for? Oh yes, a secret garden, appealing characters and the usual will they won’t they romance and happy endings – more than one this time around. Loved it. Roll on the next one by one of my favourite authors.’ Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

More From Katie Fforde